Replacing Red

I spent the first half of my day interviewing teachers to “replace” Red. Of course, no one could actually replace her or even come close to filling her shoes, but we needed to hire someone. So.

We had three mediocre-to-lame people, then finished up with Miss J, my newest librarian. You may recall that she is a teacher by trade. I was a bit irritated that she’d applied for the job and honestly didn’t think she’d have enough experience to get it. But she smoked her interview. As she talked, passion for teaching was almost visibly oozing from her pores. Her excitement was infectious, and I’m pleased that we offered the job to her today.

Of course, this means I have to find a librarian to replace her. And we all know how well that went last time. But I’m hopeful that we’ll find another freak like me this round, someone who is as excited about being a prison librarian as Miss J is about being a teacher.

Leave a comment